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What is Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC): Meaning, Formula & Example

What Is Customer Acquisition Cost?

How Do You Determine Customer Acquisition Cost?

To understand how to calculate acquisition cost, let’s discuss what goes into the calculation of the cost of acquiring a customer. 

Let’s say XYZ Beverages is a soft drink company with a significant market share in India. Their marketing expenses for the year 2021-2022 include advertisements, pay-per-click expenses, marketing department salaries and commissions. 

All these costs are represented by the term “Marketing Expenses.”

The company's total number of customers acquired each quarter is termed "New Customers Acquired." The CAC sheet for one financial year, which is divided into four quarters, would look something like this.

Financial Quarter

Marketing Expenses

New Customer Acquired

1st Quarter (April 2021- June 2021)

₹ 50, 000

3000

2nd Quarter (July 2021- September 2021)

₹ 30, 000

3000

3rd Quarter (October 2021-December 2021)

₹ 70, 000

10000

4th Quarter (January 2022- March 2022)

₹ 50, 000

4000

Total

₹ 2, 00, 000

20000

In this case, CAC = 2, 00, 000 / 20000 = ₹ 10. Hence, cost of acquisition of XYZ Beverages for 2021-2022 is ₹ 10 per customer.

How to Reduce Customer Acquisition Cost?

One important point that you should keep in mind is that a certain amount of CTC can be high for a company but low for another company, depending on their product type and services. Here’s an example to illustrate this point further: 

Let’s say ABC Company is a luxury electronics brand. Here are its particulars.

Customer acquisition cost for 2021-2022

₹ 1000/customer

Minimum product price

₹20,000

New customers acquired

2000

Gross profit excluding the Cost of Acquistion

₹19,000

On the other hand, XYZ Beverages is a soft drink brand. Here are its particulars.

Customer acquisition cost for 2021-2022

₹10/customer

Minimum product price

₹50

New customers acquired

20,000

Gross profit excluding the Cost of Acquistion

₹40

So, in case of ABC Company, if it is assumed that each customer bought the minimum priced product, i.e. ₹20,000, their gross profit per item excluding the CAC is ₹ 19,000. This is a low cost of acquisition compared to their business volume.

However, in case of XYZ Beverages, if each customer buys their minimum priced item, i.e. ₹50, its gross profit, excluding the cost of acquisition, is ₹40. Therefore, in this case, the acquisition cost is comparatively high.

What Is the Importance of Customer Acquisition Cost?

FAQs About Customer Acquisition Cost